The Timothy Whitehouse Award

In 2002, the Trusts and Estates Section instituted the Timothy Whitehouse Award in honor of the late Commissioner Timothy Whitehouse.  Commissioner Whitehouse received his undergraduate degree from Claremont McKenna College and his law degree from Loyola Law School. He began serving as a probate attorney in the Central District of the Los Angeles Superior Court in 1975. In 1992, Commissioner Whitehouse became Supervising Probate Attorney until he was elevated to the position of Probate Commissioner in 1997. Commissioner Whitehouse served as Judge Pro Tem of Department 5 in the Los Angeles Superior Court Central District from January 1997 until his death on June 30, 1998 at the age of 61. Commissioner Whitehouse was very involved in community activities and served as a host parent for several foreign exchange students.

The purpose of the Timothy Whitehouse Award is to honor an individual or organization who has promoted justice, increased judicial services to the public at large, and has furthered the goals of a fair and efficient administration of judicial services within the probate courts of Los Angeles County.

The Timothy Whitehouse Award is presented to a recipient chosen by the Trusts and Estates Section at the Annual "Lunch With the Probate Judges" held each spring




Kenneth S. Wolf, Esq.
2017 Commissioner Robert S. Wada
2016 Bet Tzedek
2015 Commissioner Brenda Penny
2014 Dana Hopkins, Esq.
2013 Harold Weinstock, Esq.
2012 Judge Mitchell Beckloff
2011 Harlean Carroll, Esq.
2010 Judge Aviva K. Bobb
2009 James R. Birnberg, Esq.
2008 Sandra Rae Riley, Esq.
2007 Mr. Robert Spaak
2006 Commissioner H. Ronald Hauptman
2005 Matthew Sanderson Rae Jr., Esq.
2004 Ms. Christine Oshima
2003 Carmen Alberio, Esq.
2002 Commissioner Ann E. Stodden